Tourism Award Winners push Sustainability Agenda

By Praxcedes

Nairobi Kenya


Tourism Award Winners push sustainability agenda according to a recent summit held in Bangkok, Thailand by World Travel and Tourism Council [WTTC], leading authority on global tourism and travel industry who announced the 2017 Winners of Tourism Tomorrow Awards.

Specially designed to applaud and celebrate the finest, inspirational, world-ever changing tourism initiatives presenting the awards in five different categories that clearly reflect on WTTC goal to balancing people’s interest, planet and profits based on United Nations International Year of Sustainable Tourism for Development 2017 benchmark standards.

Winners of various awards at the ceremony were carefully selected by a panel of independent experts who comprised the academics, world business leaders, NGOs and government representatives embracing the forward thinking and eco-friendly approach to the industry contributing to 17 Sustainable Development Goals [SDGs] set in the United Nations 2030 Agenda.

Ol Pejeta Conservancy Kenya won the WTTC Community Award, Destination Award to Chobe, Makgadikgadi and Okavango Delta Ramsar site of Botswana Tourism Organization; Environment Award to Misool Eco-Resort of Indonesia; Innovation Award to Mapping Ocean Wealth of the US Nature Conservancy; People Award to the Willard and Alice S Marriot Foundation of China Hospitality Education Initiative [CHEI].

WTTC President and CEO, David Scowsill, said, “I am extremely delighted by the high standards displayed by all our finalists. Those taking away various awards this year represent the very best in sustainable tourism, and we hope that their example will both educate their peers and lead the sector forward.”

President David Scowsill also said that winners of this year are world industry ambassadors and fine examples in sustainable tourism that will bring improvements in environment and culture within where they operate.

The closing remarks by Fiona Jeffry OBE, WTTC Chairperson and Founder, said that the winners should continue pushing for sustainable tourism to help promote the agenda, enhance being more responsible and accountable in the industry, encourage better tourism and travel experiences and a more protected green planet.